Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Username: Password:
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: what fly line is best used with a bamboo fly rod?  (Read 78 times)

dryflyphil

• Brookie
what fly line is best used with a bamboo fly rod?
« on: September 24, 2017, 04:15:48 PM »

Hey Guys, what better place to ask this question?

First of all, I just purchased a Headwaters victory series 8' 6" 3pc 2tp 5wt Mckenzie river model bamboo fly rod a few days ago that should be delivered tomorrow. Probably like a lot of people, I couldn't afford a $2000.00 Orvis or a $4000.00 Thomas & Thomas. But long story short, for $260.00 I believe its not to bad, and pretty cool to me. A friend of mine loaned me his Headwaters Favorite model for around 2 yrs, which I'm not a pro but it felt pretty good, so I said why not?

Anyway, a lot of lines are designed for faster action fly rods these days. So this rod is a medium action bamboo and I'm looking for any suggestions for line taper/type/brand that you think would work. At this stage, I don't think I'm up for the upkeep maintenance of silk or maybe I am?

https://headwatersbamboo.com/shop/victory/

Thanks and any input is much appreciated.......Phil
"Fly rods are like potato chips, you can't just have one."

Shakeyfly

• No Time to Fish
  • Administrator
  • Baby effin Wheel Kid
  • Huge Member
    • The Rules of Fly Fishing
Re: what fly line is best used with a bamboo fly rod?
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2017, 08:17:56 PM »

So I have only limited experience in this, but our modern fly lines do work well with Bamboo rods, it's just a matter of sizing them. for my 4 weight, it worked exactly right with a double taper 4 weight fly line. Plus I didn't want a lot of line out when casting.

With that said if you're going for the full experience of bamboo, go a true silk line... but watch out for the price and care...