Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Username: Password:
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Islander No. 3  (Read 74 times)

ToneDef

• Largemouth
  • I'm New
Islander No. 3
« on: October 17, 2017, 03:51:41 PM »

I am thinking about picking up a black Islander No. 3 reel for use as a 9 wt. Seems to be on par with the older Abel's and other cork drag reels of that era. I love the old school look and it seems to be a well built, low maintenance reel. Anyone here own one or have any experience with one? Bear's Den has a fair deal on a used one.

jeffsod

• Baby effin Wheel Kid
Re: Islander No. 3
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2017, 07:24:55 PM »

If you go on Spey pages and search the name I think you will find they are pretty well liked in the NW. They are more common out that way as that is where they are made. I have no personal experience with them.

ToneDef

• Largemouth
  • I'm New
« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2017, 08:44:42 AM »

I went to the Bear's Den last night and ended up getting the reel. It is a tank, but no heavier than my Bass Pro Kingfisher 9/10. I have a feeling I'll end up loading about 300 yds. of backing on it and then using it on my switch rod. The cork drag seems sweet. I have never used anything other than carbon/stainless and teflon. Now if only I can learn to cast the damn switch rod...

jeffsod

• Baby effin Wheel Kid
« Reply #3 on: October 18, 2017, 11:06:08 AM »

Half the battle is having a well matched line. What are you using on yours? Are you trying to cast two handed overhead?

ToneDef

• Largemouth
  • I'm New
« Reply #4 on: October 18, 2017, 11:13:32 AM »